Isaac

De CreationWiki
Abraham offrant Isaac en sacrifice. De Michel-ange (1594-1596)

Isaac (Hébreu: יצחק, Yiṣḥāq; Grec: Ἰσαάκ, Isaak; Arabique: إسحٰق, ʾIsḥāq ; « Nom veut dire::il rira ») (Né(e)::Aviv 2108 AM—m.Marié(e)::Tébeth 2148 AMMort(e)::Aviv 2288 AM) était fils d'Abraham et Sara, né quand Sara était supposément trop âgée pour maternité.

Fils de la Promesse

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
petit-fils de::Térach
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
petit-fils de::Haran
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Lot
 
Milca
 
Nachor
 
fils de::Sara
 
fils de::Abraham
 
Agar
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Moab
 
Ammon
 
Bethuel
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Laban
 
mari de::Rebecca
 
 
 
Isaac
 
frère de::Ismaël
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Léa
 
Rachel
 
père de::Ésaü
 
père de::Jacob

Dieu a promis à Abraham que ses descendants hériteraient le pays de Canaan et être un bienfait de tout le monde, mais Abraham n'avait pas de fils. Se voyante stérile, sa femme lui a persuadé d'engenderer pour elle un fils de sa servante (une pratique légitime de ce temps); ce garçon était Ismaël. Mais Dieu a eu déterminé de réaliser sa promesse par un moyen humainement impossible, pour démontrer qu'Il était en contrôle total. Isaac est né à Sara lorsque Abraham avait 100 ans, et Ismaël à peu près 14.[1]

Sens de son nom

Le nom Isaac est lié au mot pour rires, en parlant de la joie d'un fils né si inattenduement, de la joie de la promesse qu'il incarne, et aussi de la réaction de Sara lorsqu'elle a entendu la prophétie de sa naissance.

La sacrifice d'Isaac

Les vies d'Abraham et Isaac sont riches en typologie. Un des types est de la mort de Jésus-Christ à la volonté de Dieu Père. Dieu a commandé à Abraham d'aller à un endroit particulier, habituellement cru d'être Mont Moriah à Jérusalem, et y offrir Isaac en sacrifice à Dieu comme offrande brûlée.[2] Parce qu'Isaac était assez fort de porter assez de bois pour l'offrande, il doit être adolescent et doit être assez fort de résister s'il a eu voulu. (En fait Josèphe a tenu qu'Isaac avait 25 ans à la fois.[3]) Au dernier moment, Dieu a dit à Abraham de ne pas le tuer mais d'utiliser au lieu un bélier qui s'est accroché les cornes à un fourré d'à coté. Cet histoire annonce la sacrifice consentante de Jésus par l'ordre du Père et aussi la fourniture de Jésus comme substitute pour payer la peine pour les péchés de tout le monde.

Mariage

Isaac s'est marié avec sa cousine, Rebecca, par une entente faite par Abraham et bénie en son résultat par Dieu. Ce mariage est un type pour le mariage avenant de l'Agneau avec sa mariée, l'église.[4]

Fils

Isaac bénant Jacob

Isaac et Rebecca ont eu deux fils, Ésaü et Jacob, quand Isaac avait âge de devenir parent::60 ans. Ces deux sont aussi typologiquement significatifs, en particulière du fait que Dieu ne se limite pas par les préconceptions humaines mais choisira ce qu'Il veut. Ainsi, Dieu a pris des dispositions pour la promesse de se descendre par le fils plus jeun, Jacob, au lieu que par son frère aîné.[5]

Mort

Isaac est mort à l'âge de laps de vie::180 ans. Ses fils Ésaü et Jacob l'ont enterré dans le Tombeau de Macpéla.

Modèle:Portail biographique

Références

  1. James Ussher, The Annals of the World, Larry Pierce, ed., Green Forest, AR: Master Books, 2003 (ISBN 0890513600), pghh. 86-88
  2. Ussher, op. cit., pgh. 91
  3. Ussher, op. cit., pgh. 92
  4. Ussher, op. cit., pgh. 94
  5. Ussher, op. cit., pgh. 99


Voyez aussi

The Creation Wiki is made available by the NW Creation Network
Watch monthly live webcast - Like us on Facebook - Subscribe on YouTube

Isaac

From CreationWiki, the encyclopedia of creation science
Jump to: navigation, search
Isaac
Isaac Michelangelo.jpg

Abraham sacrificing Isaac. By Michelangelo (1594-1596).
Prophet, Seer, Second Hebrew Patriarch,
Father of Israel, Holy Forefather
Born Born::Abib 2108 AM, Canaan
Died Died::Abib 2288 AM, Canaan
Venerated in Christianity
Judaism
Islam
Major shrine Cave of the Patriarchs, Hebron
Feast August 17

Isaac (Hebrew: יצחק, Yiẓkhāq; Greek: Ἰσαάκ, Isaāk; Arabic: إسحٰق, ʼIsḥāq; "Name means::he laughs") (Born::Abib 2108 AM—m.Married::Teveth 2148 AMDied::Abib 2288 AM) was the son of Abraham and Sarah, born when Sarah was supposedly beyond the age of childbearing.

Name Etymology

The name Isaac is related to the word for laughter, speaking both of the joy of a son born so unexpectedly, of the joy of the promise that he embodies, and also of Sarah's reaction when she heard the prophecy of his birth.

Son of the Promise

God had promised Abraham that his descendants would inherit the land of Canaan and be a blessing to all the world, yet Abraham had no son. Seeing that she was barren, his wife had him beget a son for her by a slavegirl (a legitimate practice of that time); that boy was Ishmael. However, God had determined to bring his promise about by means which were humanly impossible, so as to demonstrate that he was in full control. Isaac was born to Sarah when Abraham was 100 years old, and Ishmael was about 14.[1]

The Sacrifice of Isaac

The lives of Abraham and Isaac are rich in typology. One of the types is of the death of Jesus Christ at the will of God the Father. God commanded Abraham to go to a particular place, usually thought to be mount Moriah at Jerusalem, and there to sacrifice Isaac to God as a burnt offering.[2] Since Isaac was strong enough to carry sufficient wood for the offering, he must have been a teenager and must have been strong enough to resist had he wished. (Indeed Flavius Josephus held that Isaac was 25 years old at the time.[3]) At the last moment, God told Abraham not to kill him but to use instead a ram that had got its horns caught in a nearby thicket. This story foreshadows both the willing sacrifice of Jesus by command of the Father but also the provision of Jesus as a substitute to pay the penalty for the sins of all the world.

Genealogy

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
grandson of::Terah
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
grandson of::Haran
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Lot
 
Milcah
 
Nahor
 
son of::Sarah
 
son of::Abraham
 
Hagar
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Moab
 
Ammon
 
Bethuel
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Laban
 
husband of::Rebekah
 
 
 
Isaac
 
brother of::Ishmael
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Leah
 
Rachel
 
father of::Esau
 
father of::Jacob

Isaac was married to his cousin, husband of::Rebekah, by an arrangement made by Abraham and blessed in its outcome by God. This marriage is a type for the coming marriage of the Lamb to his bride, the church.[4]

Isaac blessing Jacob

Macro-Haplogroup P was initiated in Isaac. With Rebekah he had two sons, Esau and Jacob, when he was age of parenthood::60 years old. These two are also typologically significant, in particular of the fact that God is not constrained by human preconceptions but will choose whomever he will. Thus, God arranged for the promise to descend through the younger son, Jacob, rather than through his elder brother.[5]

Death

Isaac died at the age of life span::180 years. His sons Esau and Jacob buried him in the Cave of Macpelah.

See Also

Creationwiki bible portal.png
Browse


References

  1. James Ussher, The Annals of the World, Larry Pierce, ed., Green Forest, AR: Master Books, 2003 (ISBN 0890513600), pghh. 86-88
  2. Ussher, op. cit., pgh. 91
  3. Ussher, op. cit., pgh. 92
  4. Ussher, op. cit., pgh. 94
  5. Ussher, op. cit., pgh. 99