Othniel

De CreationWiki

Othniel (Hébreu עָתְנִיאֵ֣ל, Nom veut dire::force de Dieu) (fl. Fleurit::2612 AMMort(e)::2644 AM)[1] était le troisième juge d'Israël et le seul juge de la tribu de Juda.

Famille

Othniel était neveu de Caleb, qui avait un plus jeun frère nommé Kénaz. Othniel s'est marié ausi avec la fille de Caleb. La Bible ne documents pas ses descendants.

Premier challenge

Othniel s'est établi d'abord comme héros national bientôt après la mort de Josué (2580 AM, ou environ {{#show:Josué|?Mort(e)}}). Josué a eu accordé à Caleb la ville d'Hébron et les environs. (Josué 14:13-15 ) Dans cette région se trouvait une ville qui s'appelait Debir. Caleb a offri la permission de se marier avec sa fille à n'importe quel officier qui pourrait prendre Debir. Othniel a relevé le challenge et a pris avec succès la ville.[2][3][4][5][6][7] (Juges 1:11-15 )

Première oppression

Vingt-quatre ans après, l'Israël nationale a causé Dieu à colère à cause de son idolâtrie et négligence spirituelle, et donc était sous la première de beaucoup d'oppressions. Un roi nommé Cuschan Rischeathaïm, Araméen,[2][3][4][6][7] est devenu le premier de beaucoup de rois syriens d'opprimer Israël à une fois ou une autre. (Le nom hébreu littéral est אֲרַ֣ם נַהֲרָ֑יִם ou Aram-Naharaim.[5]) Huit ans se sont passés, (Juges 3:7-9 ) et puis Othniel s'est avancé. La Bible décrit sa carrière en un seul verset. (Juges 3:10 ) Il a « jugé » Israël, c.-à-d. a amené cette nation à prise de conscience de son péché collectif. Puis il a ramassé une force de grandeur indocumenté et a chassé Cuschan Rischeathaïm du pays israélite.

Par la suite il a continué de gérer la justice depuis trente-deux ans, et donc la pleine longueur de l'histoire d'Othniel, du commencement de l'occupation par Cuschan Rischeathaïm à la mort d'Othniel,était quarante ans.[2][3][4][5][6][7] (Juges 3:11 )

Mort

Othniel est mort en 2644 AM, et n'a laissé pas de successeur immédiat. Israël serait donc opprimée encore.

Commentaire

Beaucoup de commentateurs remarquent sur la carrière d'Othniel. Alors que l'histoire n'exige que sept versets pour se dire, elle établit un modèle qui se répéterait beaucoup de fois dans la première histoire d'Israël.[5]

Frank Wallace remarque le nom alternatif de la ville de Debir: Kirjath Sépher, ou littéralement, « ville d'un livre. » Wallace suggère que le « livre » en question est l'érudition accumulée des hommes, de laquelle les hommes tendent de se vanter, en disant qu'ils n'ont point de besoin de Dieu. Othniel donc donne l'exemple des chrétiens modernes, qui devraient ignorer le ridicule d'un monde qui conclut que les Chrétiens vivent en ignorance (et, selon quelques-uns, vraiment préfèrent l'ignorance au savoir humain).[6]


Vacant
Titre tenu la dernière fois par
successeur de::Josué
Membre de::Juge
fleurit::2612 AMMort(e)::2644 AM
Vacant
Titre tenu ensuite par
succédé(e) par::Éhud
Creationwiki french biblique portal.png
Naviguez


Références

  1. Jones, Floyd M., The Chronology of the Old Testament, Green Forest, AR: Master Books, 2004, p. 278
  2. 2,0, 2,1 et 2,2 Konig, George, « Othniel, » AboutBibleProphecy.com, n.d. Accédé le 15 décembre 2008.
  3. 3,0, 3,1 et 3,2 Hirsch EG et Price IM, « Othniel, » The Jewish Encyclopedia, n.d. Accédé le 15 décembre 2008.
  4. 4,0, 4,1 et 4,2 « Othniel, » Jewish knowledge base, n.d. Accédé le 15 décembre 2008
  5. 5,0, 5,1, 5,2 et 5,3 Gordon I, « Othniel and the Power of God, » Jesus Plus Nothing, n.d. Accédé le 15 décembre 2008.
  6. 6,0, 6,1, 6,2 et 6,3 Wallace, Frank, « The Days of the Judges (1): Othniel, » BibleCentre.org, 3 février 2007. Accédé le 15 décembre 2008.
  7. 7,0, 7,1 et 7,2 Easton MG, éd. Taylor PS, « Othniel, » WebBible encyclopedia, n.d. Accédé le 15 décembre 2008.


Voyez aussi

The Creation Wiki is made available by the NW Creation Network
Watch monthly live webcast - Like us on Facebook - Subscribe on YouTube

Othniel

From CreationWiki, the encyclopedia of creation science
Jump to: navigation, search

Othniel (Hebrew: עתניאל, ʻOthnīʼēl; "Name means::Lion of God") or Othniel Ben Kenaz (Hebrew: עתניאל בן קנז, ʻOthnīʼēl Ben Qenạz, (fl. Flourit::2612 AMDied::2644 AM)[1] was the third Judge of Israel and the only Judge from the tribe of Judah.

Family

Othniel was a nephew of Caleb, who had a younger brother named Kenaz. Othniel also married Caleb's daughter. The Bible does not record his descendants.

First challenge

Othniel first established himself as a national hero shortly after the death of Joshua (2580 AM, or about {{#show:Joshua|?Died}}). Joshua had granted to Caleb the city of Hebron and the surrounding region. (Joshua 14:13-15 ) In that region was a city called Debir. Caleb offered his daughter's hand in marriage to any officer who could capture Debir. Othniel accepted the challenge and successfully captured the town.[2][3][4][5][6][7] (Judges 1:11-15 )

First oppression

Twenty-four years later, national Israel had provoked God to anger by its idolatry and spiritual negligence, and thus lay under the first of many oppressions. A king named Cushan-rishathaim, an Aramaean,[2][3][4][6][7] became the first of many Syrian kings to oppress Israel at one time or another. (The literal Hebrew name is ארם נהרים or Aram-Naharaim.[5]) Eight years passed, (Judges 3:7-9 ) and then Othniel stepped forward. The Bible describes his career in a single verse. (Judges 3:10 ) He "judged" Israel, i.e. brought that nation to realization of its collective sin. Then he rallied a force of unrecorded size and chased Cushan-rishathaim from Israelite country.

Thereafter he continued to administer justice for thirty-two years, and therefore the full length of the story of Othniel, from the beginning of Cushan-rishathaim's occupation to the death of Othniel, was forty years.[2][3][4][5][6][7] (Judges 3:11 )

Death

Othniel died in 2644 AM, and left no immediate successor. Israel would thus be oppressed once again.

Commentary

Many commentators remark on the career of Othniel. Though the story requires only seven verses to tell, it establishes a pattern that would repeat itself many times in the early history of Israel.[5]

Frank Wallace notes the alternative name of the city of Debir: Kirjath-sepher, or literally, "city of a book." Wallace suggests that the "book" in question is the accumulated learning of mankind, about which men tend to boast, saying that they do not need God. Othniel thus set an example for modern Christians, who ought to ignore the ridicule of a world that finds that Christians live in ignorance (and, some say, actually prefer ignorance to human wisdom).[6]


VacantTitle last held bysuccessor of::Joshua Member of::Judge
Flourit::2612 AMDied::2644 AM
VacantTitle next held bysucceeded by::Ehud

See Also


References

  1. Jones, Floyd M., The Chronology of the Old Testament, Green Forest, AR: Master Books, 2004, p. 278
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Konig, George, "Othniel," AboutBibleProphecy.com, n.d. Accessed December 15, 2008.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Hirsch EG and Price IM, "Othniel," The Jewish Encyclopedia, n.d. Accessed December 15, 2008.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 "Othniel," Jewish knowledge base, n.d. Accessed December 15, 2008
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 Gordon I, "Othniel and the Power of God," Jesus Plus Nothing, n.d. Accessed December 15, 2008.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 Wallace, Frank, "The Days of the Judges (1): Othniel," BibleCentre.org, February 3, 2007. Accessed December 15, 2008.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 Easton MG, ed. Taylor PS, "Othniel," WebBible encyclopedia, n.d. Accessed December 15, 2008.